Welcome!

Welcome to My Sustainable Life Blog! I’m thrilled you have taken the time to visit and hope you will consider signing up to receive new post updates by clicking the ‘follow’ button on the lower right hand side of your screen. It’s been an exciting past few weeks thinking of a name for this new space, writing the ‘about’ and ‘getting started’ pages and dreaming up all kinds of posts to share with you! So without further ado…

One of the steps I’m taking to live a more sustainable life is learning to create art with found supplies and up-cycled materials, like textile arts. Just look at some of the inspiring examples I’ve found on the internet!

5910fdaff21123cc86356192db73f864
Hens Teeth

This ‘tweet’ little brooch can be created with anything from scraps of old clothing and buttons to embroidery floss and paints or markers. Isn’t it fabulous?!?! I’ve had a box of DMC embroidery floss laying around for years since my cross-stitch days. It’s time to put them to good use!

bef5a22c374a3459e58a6a232b0f9852
Jan’s Sister

Another project that can be made with embroidery floss is this stitched sieve. Swoon! What a fantastic piece of art for the kitchen! How many times have you seen one of these old sieves at the second hand store or flea market?

Or what about using some embroidery floss to add a bit of pizzazz to a plain t-shirt? I have many in my closet that could be used for this.

7f4bba0a3284ba321073ba1141e1ec48
Design Sponge

Imagine all the many designs you can create by stitching on flowers or adding buttons!

And here’s an idea I found to cover a snag on a sweeter of mine. I think I’ll love the sweater even more!

2008
Life is Good

Is your head spinning with ideas like mine? If you would like to see more textile art examples click here to visit my Pinterest (Crafts – Stitching) board.

I can’t wait to show you something I’ve created with some of these ideas! Here are just a few odds and ends I found around the house to get started!

160719 Textiles

Hope you have been inspired to make something too? And please share when you do!

8 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

