Sustainably Made

Last month when I debuted my first post on My Sustainable Life Blog I talked about wanting to shift my artistic talents to creating works of art with up-cycled and thrift store supplies instead of all new materials. You can view that post here.  Included in that article was this photograph of some old crafty supplies I had stored away and needed to put to good use.

160719 Textiles

 

The fabric was left over from an old scrapbook kit. The little doily was purchased years ago from a vintage shop. The flower was a practice piece I made when I was learning to crochet. The buttons had been part of my stash for years and the embroidery fabric and floss were even older. Now look…

IMG_4911

Isn’t it lovely? I’ll be listing it for sale in my re-vamped Etsy shop where I used to sell my paper craft projects and supplies. The new shop will be called Sustainably Made and will included more projects like this. I’ll announce the opening here on my blog…soon!

I’m currently working on the following piece. The fabric is from an old organic cotton pillow case that had a hole in the corner. I’m not sure what it’ll be when it’s done. I love to let the project take me wherever it may.

IMG_4950a

While running errands a couple weeks ago I popped into our local Goodwill and found theses blouses pictured below to use for future projects. They’re made of linen and cotton. I love the shell buttons on the brown shirt and will be sure to use them too.

160813 Goodwill Shirts

 

Other projects in the works that I can’t wait to share with you include this pair of pants I’m embroidering with flowers because I managed to get ink stains on them.

IMG_4955a

I hope those turn out…I’m new to this embroidery thing!

2 thoughts on “Sustainably Made

Leave a Reply

