Vegan Skillet Potatoes

I love potatoes! I love ’em mashed, french fried, scalloped, baked and twice baked. Oh and I love potato salad, potato skins and potato chowder! In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever met a potato I didn’t love! Ha!

IMG_4857a

The potato recipe I make most often around our house is an adaptation from the potatoes served at the Sky Kitchen, a small airport cafe my mom waited tables at when I was a girl. They used to boil and dice their russet potatoes before frying them which made them really soft inside and crispy on the outside. Today I use the microwave instead of boiling the potatoes and my favorite seasoned salt, Herbamare, to make this old childhood favorite.

Ingredients
2 lbs. red and yukon gold potatoes
1/4 cup plant based butter (Earth Balance)
cracked black pepper to taste
salt or Herbamare to taste
2 tbsp. fresh minced parsley

Directions
Wash potatoes and cut into wedges, leaving skin on. Place wedges on microwave safe plate and microwave 10-12 minutes or until potatoes begin to soften. Potatoes will finish cooking while frying. Let potatoes cool for a few minutes and then dice.

In a cast iron skillet heat butter on medium heat until melted and add potatoes. Now add salt and pepper. Turn potatoes with a spatula when they brown. Add fresh parsley. Turn potatoes a couple more times until they’ve browned to your liking.

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes
Serves 4-6

Leave a Reply

